Uncyclopedia:Pee Review/Rough Pubs

From Uncyclopedia, the content-free encyclopedia

< Uncyclopedia:Pee Review
Revision as of 19:36, December 13, 2007 by RabbiTechno (talk | contribs)

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

FAQ

edit Rough Pubs

Never been bothered about getting an article featured, but been curious lately as to how well one of mine might do on Pee Review so I'll put this one on and see what happens. Thanks for your time! RabbiTechno 12:23, 12 December 2007 (UTC)

UUtea A big mug o' reviewin' strength tea? Why, that must mean this article
is being reviewed by:
UU - natter UU Manhole
(While you're welcome to review it as well, you might like to consider helping someone else instead).
(Also, if the review hasn't been finished within 24 hours of this tag appearing, feel free to remove it or clout UU athwart the ear'ole).

I quite like the look of this one. I'll review it this evening. --Sir Under User (Hi, How Are You?) VFH KUN 13:28, 12 December 2007 (UTC)

Cheers matey. I wrote it back in the summer sometime. Feel free to cane the pictures, especially the first one, 'cos I'm rubbish at photoshopping. I'm more concerned with the actual writing. RabbiTechno 19:57, 12 December 2007 (UTC)
Humour: 8.5 Oh ho, I'm enjoying this. Could well be the laughter of recognition - I have been in spiritual cousins of the Pitbull and Hammer a few times more than I'd care to mention - but I think you're on to a good one here. Particularly like the line about Scottish Rough Pubs.
Concept: 8 A good concept. Everyone knows a rough boozer or two, and there's rich pickings to be had here. You may need a tad more work to make it accessible to those from other countries though (Cajek, if you're looking in, how well does this translate across the pond?) I'd make the US version in the second section "Rough Bars" for starters, and possibly have a little more transatlantic fun explaining how things work around here.
Prose and formatting: 9 Well written, and well formatted. Reads quite nicely too - although possibly one or two sentences get a bit convoluted for their own good. The Oirish pubs paragraph contains a good example - that first line is too long, and the second one is arguably unnecessary. Trim it a bit and keep the focus on Oirish pubs, not pubs in Ireland.
Images: 8 A good number, fairly well spaced. That last one is a bit far down, and possibly needs shifting or losing. But they're all relevant and pretty good. Yes, the first one is not hugely professional, but it's not the worst. I might try tidying it up myself if I get more time soon, but it doesn't drag the piece down as it is.
Miscellaneous: 8.4 Averaged
Final Score: 41.9 Crikey, that's the highest score I've given in a while. I'll add a comment or two below, because I feel funny if I don't, but honestly, take the points I've made above and tweak it just a bit, and frankly, I may just become bothered about getting it featured - it's a good read!
Reviewer: --Sir Under User (Hi, How Are You?) VFH KUN 21:27, 12 December 2007 (UTC)


Types of rough pub - possibly a little work here, as you only have 3 - surely there are a couple more. For example, you have a bit about consciously rough pubs - how about adding in those that try not to be rough pubs, but can't help it? You know, there are always a few around. The landlord has delusions of averageness, maybe tries to get in an acceptable wine, cleans up the beer garden, installs a slide, tried to come across as "family friendy", but one glance at the other patrons shows you he must mean the Manson Family... Do try to avoid making the article over-long though.

Oh, and names - don't forget, all those not called Wayne or Kevin are called Dave, or have a short, ugly nickname to match their stature - Lexo, Chibber, Bazza, you know the form.

Games: don't forget the fruit machine, and possibly quiz machine - particularly a touch screen quiz machine with games on from Nuts magazine that involve the revealing of a "lady" in her bra. I'm sure you can squeeze some humour out of those, and they are almost ubiquitous.

Food: don't forget pork scratchings!

And also don't forget the fact that industrial strength breathing apparatus (or a sense of smell killed by too much booze) is required to walk within feet of the gents' loos - actually entering them may cause this apparatus to melt.

Oh, and link to Hyperdrinking - that would improve it as well (or maybe that's just me doing some low-level whoring - in fact, scrsatch that!)

I'd recommend getting a second opinion from a non-Brit (in fact, I'll ask Cajek for a word or two) to see how well this travels. Not a full review unless they disagree with all I've said though.

Let me know if you do make some changes of the back of this - Id love to see how it develops.

And as ever, this is only my opinion, and good luck! --Sir Under User (Hi, How Are You?) VFH KUN 21:27, 12 December 2007 (UTC)


/Me steps in upon request Do you know what I think of when I see English humor? I see my ol' article Classy. That's all I see, really, just people in monocles and huge underjaws laughing to each other in a language I don't quite understand. "How could one tell that a gentleman is from Bristol upon Dorchestah? His rarr-rarr-larl is larlrarr harharharhar". That's why I wrote that stupid article.
Uh, parts that translate well would be "Beers", the American bullet point in "How To Find A Rough Pub" (WHY IS IT SECOND?!?! I'M INSULTED!!), most of the "Food" section, parts of the game section, and most of the clientele section. (Firefox says that "clientele" is spelled wrong, BTW)
Beers, I understood (Wifebeater XXXX, funny haha). Food was okay, I got it. Games was kinda weird: what the hell is snooker? Is that pool? Cribbage? Does anybody else from "this side of the pond" know what's going on? Other than that I probably would've given it an above average score. UU's review is so in-depth, though, that I would follow his advice. I hope I helped guys... gents... whatever... :D   Le Cejak <-> (Dec 12 / 22:41)
Snooker is like pool, only vastly more complex and played on a table the size of the average London garden. As for cribbage, I have no idea - it's something my grandad used to play in the pub, when he wasn't getting bladdered and trying to chat up the serving wenches. Many thanks for your thoughts, chaps. RabbiTechno 19:36, 13 December 2007 (UTC)
BTW, Firefox is lying. It's clientele. :-) RabbiTechno 19:36, 13 December 2007 (UTC)
Personal tools
projects