Uncyclopedia:Pee Review/Bangladesh

From Uncyclopedia, the content-free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation, search

FAQ

edit Bangladesh

InMooseWeTrust 15:27, 29 July 2009 (UTC)

I might as well take this, my knowledge of Bangladesh is not particularly sharp, but then I imagine this article wasn't written by a Bangladeshi either (please correct me if I'm wrong). I'll do it, soon... --El Sid, the lazy oneparlez-vous franglais? 08:51, 2 August 2009 (UTC)

Had a pre-review review and this doesn't look as painful as I thought it might possibly be, there's some good stuff here, huzzah! :D --El Sid, the lazy oneparlez-vous franglais? 09:05, 2 August 2009 (UTC)

  • Much of it was written by me, and I was born in Bangladesh. I also noticed a lot of other details in the article that I didn't write, but I know only other Bangladeshis would know. InMooseWeTrust 11:31, 2 August 2009 (UTC)

Ok that's reassuring, I'll get round to it later this evening. --El Sid, the lazy oneparlez-vous franglais? 13:34, 2 August 2009 (UTC)

Humour: 9.5 I don't think that's an exaggerated rating at all. The funnies are pretty none stop and held my attention very well. I was a little daunted by such a long article at first, but by about a third of the way down I was reading at pretty much a laugh a sentence. Your writing style/delivery is very witty and I'm happy that this isn't the familiar case of some non-<insert nationality> picking some random nation to mock in a typically obnoxious way. I like that this humour is good-natured and clearly detached/nonchalant, it manages to avoid political agenda and present things concisely in quite an innocent way. You manage to make it funny for someone who isn't a Bangladeshi but knows something of the history and geography as well as including enough "in-jokes" - I mean pokes at part of the culture the average reader might not be immediately familiar with - that a Bangladeshi wouldn't just think it brushes over their country. It's all very accessible humour. The only part that detracted slightly was the "Trivia" section, which wasn't so funny. Also I think there is too much "evil <countryname>", especially since you seemed to decide Saint Pakistan becomes Evil Pakistan at some point between the intro chapter and the end.
Concept: 7.5 I'm still not sure about this category, I assume it wants you to talk about how original the concept is? Well the concept is a country so... I don't know what to say - it doesn't go off on tangents (without being funny anyway), it refers specifically to the country. Actually I do have a minor problem with the layout in that I'd rather it copy the design almost entirely from Wikipedia. I mean instead of having minor categories as Main Sections, it should stick things like "Population" and "The Bengali Middle Classes" under "Demographics", "Bangladeshi Names" (you might actually write a little bit too much for this section) and "Dallywood" under "Culture", "Legacy of the Liberation War" under "History", otherwise - as it is now - it starts to look a bit messy.
Prose and formatting: 7 I suppose what I wrote up there I should really have written in here. In addition to that, there are often double gaps between (sometimes overly long) paragraphs that make it appear a bit amateurish and unrefined. I think when more pictures are added (see below), this will be easier to format. Nothing else to say really, as I said before it's very well-written and there are no grammar problems or anything, that I can see anyway.
Images: 4 The pictures in the infobox are very good (the flag and map are a very nice touch), but then no more pictures. The two pictures at the bottom right were actually what made me think on my pre-review review that it wasn't going to be a very good article. They actually detract from the quality and make it look a bit chaotic down there. I'm sure plenty of pictures could be used to highlight and support some of the funny things you say further up, if you need any help with that I'd be more than willing.
Miscellaneous: 7.25 Average score, not a lot to say here, just get some pictures in there and it will be a very good article. And get rid of the red links.
Final Score: 35.25 Very nice work, it made me lol for real on a number of occasions and I think there is definite potential for this article. Good luck wringing all the comic potential out of your perpetually drenched country :)
Reviewer: --El Sid, the lazy oneparlez-vous franglais? 18:51, 2 August 2009 (UTC)
    • Thank you for the honest criticism. InMooseWeTrust 19:36, 2 August 2009 (UTC)
    Drive-by: Definitely needs a lot more pics. A quick rule of thumb for you: if you have a high screen resolution, and are able to fit a whole section of the page on your screen without an image to be seen, you could probably do with more images. They don't have to be lol-funny, just to illustrate the article. Also, way too many red links - some redlinks are fine, might encourage new articles to be written, but too many looks ugherlee. You don't need links to non-existent "main articles" for a start. Take note of those templates at the top - this has to look more presentable. Take a look at some featured articles for formatting tips. Pretty this thing up a bit. Also, I do think that humour score here is somewhat generous, but it's definitely better than I expected it to be from looking at the formatting. --UU - natter UU Manhole 13:51, Aug 6
Yes, perhaps I was a little generous with the comedy rating, to be honest I was expecting more rambling crap and random tangents (like a lot of other popular pages) but there's actually quite a lot of good humour in there and it's well-informed too (it's written quite sensitively from the point of view of someone who actually knows something about the country). I would in retrospect probably give it an 8, or a 7.5, but what is holding the humour back in my opinion is actually the lack of images, sometimes awkward formatting and the overall length of article, rather than the material itself. Since this was my first review (I think), I therefore was a little more generous for "humour" in case my judgement was impaired by the other areas I criticised, and was somewhat naive in my overall marking of this category.
Still think it's better than most country articles though, regardless of the mess--El Sid, the lazy oneparlez-vous franglais? 13:59, 6 August 2009 (UTC)
Personal tools
projects