Uncyclopedia:Pee Review/Alien (2nd review)

From Uncyclopedia, the content-free encyclopedia

< Uncyclopedia:Pee Review
Revision as of 07:26, August 28, 2009 by PuppyOnTheRadio (talk | contribs)

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

FAQ

edit Alien

FLASH You will read through this article. You will subsequently think about the humour, concept, prose, formatting and miscellanea, and write up an in-depth review for the article. There is no cabal. Thank you for your cooperation. MacManiasig.png MacManiasig-cheerios.png MacManiasig-holmes.png MacManiasig-starwars.png MacManiasig-firefly.png MacManiasig-pixar.png MacManiasig-oregon.png MacManiasig-lesmiz.png MacManiasig-doctor.png 16px-HalLogo.png Portal16px.png UncycLensFlare16px.pngDalek16px.png 16px-ChekhovSig.png16px-JapanSig.png Sir MacMania GUN[23:43 10 Aug 2009]

Right, I am here to review this one as it has been waiting far too long for my liking. Just 24 hours to go.--ChiefjusticeDS 06:07, 19 August 2009 (UTC)

Really sorry but I'm going to have to extend the time for this one, I have results coming out tomorrow and some issues have come up. Sorry. I will still review just later. --ChiefjusticeDS 19:18, 19 August 2009 (UTC)
No problem. MacManiasig.png MacManiasig-cheerios.png MacManiasig-holmes.png MacManiasig-starwars.png MacManiasig-firefly.png MacManiasig-pixar.png MacManiasig-oregon.png MacManiasig-lesmiz.png MacManiasig-doctor.png 16px-HalLogo.png Portal16px.png UncycLensFlare16px.pngDalek16px.png 16px-ChekhovSig.png16px-JapanSig.png Sir MacMania GUN[19:59 19 Aug 2009]

For the first time in my reviewing career I regret that I have to withdraw my booking here, I won't elaborate on my personal life but I'm going through a very difficult time right now and it isn't practical, this is my reason for absence from the site in general. Apologies. --ChiefjusticeDS 17:43, 21 August 2009 (UTC)

I sincerely hope you'll be all right. MacManiasig.png MacManiasig-cheerios.png MacManiasig-holmes.png MacManiasig-starwars.png MacManiasig-firefly.png MacManiasig-pixar.png MacManiasig-oregon.png MacManiasig-lesmiz.png MacManiasig-doctor.png 16px-HalLogo.png Portal16px.png UncycLensFlare16px.pngDalek16px.png 16px-ChekhovSig.png16px-JapanSig.png Sir MacMania GUN[17:47 21 Aug 2009]

User:POTR/Template:PEEing And I forgot this had been pushed back in the queue... onto it now Pup t 20:39, 27/08/2009

Prose and
  Formatting:

The writing style,
spelling, grammar,
layout and overall
appearance.
8 Good work. I won't wax rhapsodic, as you know what you're doing. Just minor points.

The footnote shouldn't be a footnote, as you refer to it in main text. Take it out of there and put it back where it belongs.

right here among us changes format throughout seemingly at random. Either have it uniform, or alternatively escalate. (Italic - bold and Italic - caps, b&i - caps, b&i and font size 115%...)

Concept:
How good an idea
is behind the article?
8 Again, you know what you're doing.

Not an alteration but an addition. Have a look at Wikipedia's article on greys. without any changes that would not look out of place on uncyc.

Expand popular culture. Orsen Wells War of the Worlds was a phenomenon in and of itself and needs a little more pride of place. Maybe early experiment at mind control that worked with dramatically unexpected results. Second attempt was later made with hitchhikers radio play and was considered a failure. Aliens final conclusions off the back of these two experiments - Americans are stupid.

(If you don't use that, I will.)

And I like the right here among us joke.

Humour:
How funny is it?
Why is it funny?
How can it be funnier?
8 Sorry if I seem to be brief, but there doesn't seem to be much point in saying "This is fantastic" continuously. I'm drilling down on detail where I thinly it can be improved.

A/s/l seems a little antiquated. Can I suggest that you are referring to geeks who study aliens - in other words, the dateless. Wouldn't the first message be "wanna cyber?"

Opening quote - David Tenant doctor drinks tea... Aided hi regeneration.

Seem to vaguely remember a quote re SETI that they weren't sure what to look for as they had been unable to prove the existence of intelligent life on earth.

And the movie contact... The only time I've ever wanted to firebomb a cinema. Has to rate a mention.

Images:
How are the images?
Are they relevant,
with good quality
and formatting?
7 Short response on this is while I like the images that are in there - gives a very London feel, by the way - I'm disappointed because it's missing an image. There is just a little texty imbalance on this article.

I've already gone over my feelings about the consistency or the escalation of the RIGHT HERE AMONG US so I won't cover it again. But that does also need to be reflected in the captions.

I don't think there's much more to say. I do want something else visually to balance this out, but beyond that good job.

Miscellaneous:
The article's overall
quality - that indefinable
something.
7.5 Again, you've done a fantastic job. I have rushed through the review - not from lack of thought, I've re-read this article several times today and have jotted down a bundle of notes, but simply due to my lack of time, and the fact that nothing really needs to be done.

I'm happy to expand on this, or if there's anything in particular you wanted me to drill down on, you know were to find me (obviously.) I don't have as much time to be on here as I used to, but in some ways I'll always be RIGHT HERE AMONG US.

And that was hard to work in another time...

Final Score:
How much can it be
improved and what
are the most important
areas to work on.
38.5 As above
Reviewer: Pup t 07:26, 28/08/2009
Personal tools
projects